Reviewed: Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

Interpreter of Maladies that won the Pulitzer Award is deeply enthralling with simple but intensely emotional short stories that change your perspective on a lot of matters.

interpreter-of-maladies

The book is a collection of nine short stories

  1. A Temporary Matter
  2. When Mr. Pirzada Came to Dine
  3. Interpreter of Maladies
  4. A Real Durwan
  5. Sexy
  6. Mrs. Sen’s
  7. This Blessed House
  8. The Treatment of Bibi Haldar
  9. The Third and Final Continent

Each story tends to leave a mark in your memory with an insightful message to learn from. This piece specifically is beautifully sad, sentimentally intense and one that makes you stop and read again
There are times I am bewildered by each mile I have traveled, each meal I have eaten, each person I have known, each room in which I have slept. As ordinary as it all appears, there are times when it is beyond my imagination.

Jhumpa’s exquisite writing manages to run you through the story as if you were one of the characters of the story. She intricately defines how the characters struggle to maintain a balance between their culture and their newly adopted lifestyles in foreign countries. Places, names, food, religion, and everything from Indian origin are beautifully described in her books that give the reader a first-hand knowledge about Indian culture and traditions that make Jhumpa one of the most eminent writers.

The back cover of the book said, “Jhumpa Lahiri is the kind of writer who makes you want to grab the next person you see and say, ‘Read this’.” I am sure each one of those who have read and traveled through the myriad of experiences in this book, quite agree to it just like I do.

If you happen to read it or have already read it, do share your thoughts below.

©THE UNREAD BOOK  [29.05.2016]

17 Comments Add yours

  1. NJ says:

    I totally agree with the person who wrote this quote “Jhumpa Lahiri is the kind of writer who makes you want to grab the next person you see and say, ‘Read this’. 😛 . I recently gifted my canadian blogger friend ” The Namesake” on our first meeting in person 🙂 And she thoroughly loved it 🙂 I haven’t read Interpreter of Maladies.. but its in to-read list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Yes NJ, some authors really have a way with words and she’s definitely a talented one. Have you read the Lowland? Even that’s a fantastic book.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. NJ says:

        Yes read it recently 🙂 A beautiful book 🙂 The story justified the name 🙂 Have you read Akhil Sharma ?? He is a recent addition in the brigade of Indian American author 🙂

        Like

      2. Asha Seth says:

        Oh, I havent. Never even heard of him. Which of his books do you recommend?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. NJ says:

        Read the obedient father 🙂 here is book review by me for same … https://blogging101alumni.wordpress.com/2016/04/15/book-review-an-obedient-father/

        No spoilers are there 🙂

        Like

      4. Asha Seth says:

        I read the review and now hunting for the book online. Sure looks like a promising read. I enjoyed reading the review. It’s a pity I can’t leave a comment on the review on that site.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. NJ says:

        I am so happy you liked the review 🙂 Hope to hear your comments after you finish reading it 🙂
        and you can comment your feedback here .. https://ametalk.wordpress.com/2016/04/15/book-review-an-obedient-father/

        Like

      6. Asha Seth says:

        Oh. I love your site. Hoping to know you better now through your writing.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. NJ says:

        I am glad you liked it 🙂 Me too ❤

        Like

      8. Asha Seth says:

        With pleasure. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ste J says:

    Fantastic! I feel your passion and will be well up for reading this, short stories aren’t usually my thing but I trust your opinions and will add yet another book to my list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Yes, and I so hope you get around reading it, J. 😛
      It’s after a while I heard from you. Is everything okay?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ste J says:

        It’s another book to look for on my jaunts and you do keep me busy hunting for them hehe. I have been booking holidays and changing my sleeping pattern to nights for work so I have been rubbish, I shall Whatapp you in a short while though!

        Like

      2. Asha Seth says:

        That still sounds like fun to do. Better than boring tasks day in and day out. Planning for holidays sounds exciting. Where to though?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ste J says:

        I’m off on a short trip to Boston, it was a cheap last minute deal, so it won’t be a full blown holiday but my first in 2 1/2 years. I hope they have good bookshops!

        Like

      4. Asha Seth says:

        Boston. Nice! What’s good there? Do let me know all that you like about the city once you’ve returned. And yes, do bookshop a lot. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Let your thoughts flow...

