Running out of Time

So, yes, like literally running out of time. A feeling that doesn’t stop chasing me. Well, being consumed in daily chores and activities there is little time left for distractions, unless there is something gigantic disturbing. And then we have our lives always running on the fast track. What do we do?

How do we manage time for the things we love to do? And isn’t this exactly the reason we feel, Oh! How I wish I did what I loved rather than loving what I do. Makes sense?

Photo2464

So people like me out there who sacrifice most of their time for their dedicated jobs and can hardly manage to scrape some time for their most longed activities, this is a constant dilemma without a satisfying solution. After all, no matter how much we wish to not wake up to alarms that remind of long travels and 9-hour commitments, our jobs help us clear our bills at the end of the day and its this that keeps us going, isn’t it?

One of the constant struggles for us – book-possessed, is not being able to have the satisfactory amount of time to read. It’s exactly this thing that triggers the idea of me running out of my time soon, very soon. At one time, I could read about 2-3 books at a time and manage to finish about 2 books a week. Although, that was just about few months ago, it feels like ages that I have run out of that habit. These days, I barely finish a book in less than a fortnight.

So many books bought, but left untouched has put a serious restriction on my buying new books. The constant nagging thought is – First finish the ones you’ve already stocked. And trust me; this is annoying to the extreme, to not be able to buy a book you so want and even if you buy it, to find no time to read it.

So, while I try to squeeze time from lunch and coffee breaks and in between reports and calls, to somehow read some more pages, perhaps, some more lines, I keep feeling that I am seriously running out of time. It’s as though someone is hovering over you all the time, that clock on the wall is ticking away too fast. And why not? Do we not have so many million books undiscovered, unheard of, unread, which are impossible to be read in a lifetime?

While I am taking emotional wallows being deeply absorbed in the most incredible world created at the hands of Jhumpa Lahiri in her latest, The Lowland, I am also wondering if I will ever be able to read all those awesome books stacked at home, in office, the one in my bag and the other one that I spotted at my friend’s place on his coffee table, and not forgetting those few hundred at the  library and the bookstores, all, that I someday so wish to read.

-Asha

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jayde-Ashe says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I constantly feel like this. When are we ever going to give ourselves a break?

    Like

    1. Asha says:

      Well, I am not sure if I ever even need a break, at least not from reading. Pleased to see you comment, Jayde.

      Like

  2. Ste J says:

    I feel for you my friend. I have the same trouble and have even given away quite a few recently just so things are more manageable…it hasn’t worked. With the finite time that we have to us in this life it is so unfair that is to much great literature we won’t possibly have time for. If you find an answer to this conundrum, please let me know!

    Like

    1. Asha says:

      Well, whatever, I’ve tried hasn’t worked either. Only a literary miracle can save us, word-devourers.

      Like

      1. Ste J says:

        I’m always up for a miracle…there’s not enough of them at the moment!

        Like

  3. cmchavez says:

    My daily dilemma is whether I should read or write. Most days I can only have one and feel guilty for having to choose. You are more disciplined than I am, I still buy the book then tell myself that on weekends I don’t need to sleep. I can stay up all night as if I am in college again and indulge my first love, reading. There is never enough time but every minute spent engrossed in great literature, or even mediocre books, is worth searching for.

    Like

Let your thoughts flow...

