August Reads

One of the pleasures of reading
is the long hours of solitary wanderings between shelves
loaded with books in libraries, stores and stalls.
To be completely lost there, not knowing which world you are in.
An immense add to the pleasure is
when you stumble across those small advertisements
on book sales in myriad of places and
you drop everything to grab your share of books.

That’s something I did last weekend
and was almost mad with joy to find few most popular and desired books unclaimed
even though it was the last day of the sale.
Couldn’t stop smiling like a fool while moving up in the pay-queue.
Guess, I was just lucky.
See, what I added to my treasure-chest?

Photo2142

-Asha

4 Comments Add yours

  1. kimberlyfaye says:

    I have become completely addicted to library used book sales. Though I read primarily on my iPad at this point, there’s still a huge thrill in finding a book you either loved or always wanted to read for $1. (Or better yet, $5 for a shopping bag full of books!) This past weekend, I went for quality over quantity and ended up getting my hands on Looking for Alaska by John Green and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

    Like

  2. Asha says:

    The Book Thief is one of the bests. You’ll enjoy it. Looking for Alaska, I haven’t read. Let me know how you like it. And yes, it always better that way – quality over quantity.
    Have a nice weekend, Kimberly.

    Like

  3. Ste J says:

    Fantastic picks! P&P and 100 Years are both stunning books! Heart of Darkness was good but very slow for its short size…awesome though, I haven’t read the other two yet so will wait for your recommendation, or not, as the case may be…I am excited for you to be reading such quality!

    Like

    1. Asha says:

      Somehow I missed your words here, J. I absolutely enjoyed Pride and Prejudice, however, haven’t yet gotten around starting 100 years. Murders in Rue Morgue was just fine. Something has kept me from reviewing it. Need to do that soon. Rest, I am equally excited to read. What’ve you been reading?

      Like

Let your thoughts flow...

