Reviewed – On Writing by Stephen King

Being a Nicholas Sparks fan that I am, I was wandering through his personal website  one evening when I came across this section ‘Advice for Writers‘… Dropping everything that I was doing, I set out to reading it.

I found it worth my time as Sparks has listed and recommended some books that will help you improve your writing skills and one of those was ON WRITING by STEPHEN KING.

Okay, now what can I say about this book that should make it sound reasonable and satisfactory too. This being the first Stephen King book that I read, I was surprised to not have started reading his books earlier. Well, I might as well yell that I love the way King writes. For one, I fell in love with it right from the start. But anyone will, what with King’s style of writing which is exquisitely good and engrossing with a pinch of humor and a dose of his dramatic funny childhood experiences while he narrates the story of his life in this book.

Apart from reading about his life which is highly entertaining, I thoroughly enjoyed the insights he has laid on writing based on his personal experiences. The various tools viz. grammar, vocabulary, active-passive tones, tenses etc. one needs to have handy in order be an ace at writing are exceptionally helpful to all those who are new at the art of writing.

The part where Stephen narrates his tragic accident got me to a halt. For one moment, it was as though I was the one hit with the van followed by being transported to the hospital followed by being moved to another hospital in a helicopter etc. etc. The whole part shows how optimistically he faced it all and endured it all.

Having said how much and why I loved the book, I rate it 4 and a half stars not 5 stars seemingly because it got me dragging through it at instances that I almost dozed off. Now, that for a person like me is a put-off and I believe such parts ought to be positively discarded.

To summarize, it is a must read for those who intend to achieve a career in writing. Deeply intellectual with rich knowledge on various fronts and faces of writing and the set-backs one encounters on the route.

I am sure it will assist you to get a good grip on your writing tactics. Limit you from over-doing it and leaving you with being a fascinating writer.

If you happen to read it or have already read it, do share your thoughts below.

The Unread Book©

Related articles

6 Comments Add yours

  1. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Wow. Is this really good? I am thinking of reading this book, too. And oh, I am also a Nicholas Sparks’ fan!

    Like

    1. Asha says:

      You DEFINITELY should read this book. No matter what! Sparks’ fans that we are, we are going to enjoy our likes for books then. Would love to have recommendations from you, Mon.

      Like

  2. Priya says:

    I love this book, it’s my favourite writing advice. I’ve always been a big admirer of Stephen King’s books. And it’s this book I recommend when someone dismisses him as a ‘trashy horror writer’ (yes, people do that; especially the ones who claim the only ‘good literature’ is old classical literature.) I have read the memoir part of this book over a dozen times, and it is, like you’ve said, a blend of entertaining and touching. 🙂

    Like

    1. Asha says:

      It sure is. And now your comment makes me want to re-read it. 😛

      Like

Let your thoughts flow...

