Weekly Writing Challenge: Printed Books or E-Books? Does It Really Matter?

Its been a while now that I’ve wanted to write on one of the most discussed topics by book-lovers, book-addicts, book-works etc. Thanks to Erica for bringing it on. I’m finally writing a post on it.
For those of you who do not yet know, there is a
Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap
hosted by Erica where we share and discuss ideas on various topics each week.
Do check the link and participate.
This week’s topic is Printed books or E-books?

E-book-survey-620
Image Courtesy – Google images

I’ve been curious to know that how many of us in today’s technology driven world still prefer the musty smelling hardbound paper-books? I’m almost certain that there still are considerate number of readers who love paper-books. For those of us with fast-paced hectic lives, maybe eBooks are comparatively portably convenient.

Now, well, yes I too voted for paper-books on Erica’s poll and wasn’t surprised to see that more than 76% voters had opted the same.

We book-lovers like nothing better than
the feel of pages between our fingers,
the musty smell of books that we sniff like maniacs,
the crunchy sound of turning old tattered pages
and best of all,
the divine feeling of attachment you experience from holding a book clamped to your chest.

This divine need can never be satisfied by the lifeless form of eBooks just like the heavenly bliss experienced while walking amidst aisles in massive bookstores can never be experienced with eBooks.
So yes, being a book-lover that I am, I totally agree as might you that paper-books have a magical effect on its readers which eBooks can probably never have. But when observed from a practical point of view, ones inclination is due to change.
I mean, yeah okay, I can yell, shout, confess 101 reasons why I love paper-books but that is besides the point.
The point is as long as you’re reading what you desire to read, does it really matter whether that’s an eBook or a printed book?
People who travel a lot, read while on the go and prefer eBooks as a home to numerous books in one device. However, eBooks need a constant supply of electricity which makes it convenient to use paper-books. And so on and so forth….
Therefore, I feel there is no point in a debate on a topic like such where the game is undoubtedly going to be a draw. What do you think?
I’d still love to know your choice of the two.
Do share your ideas. Printed books or E-books?
Which do you pick?

– Asha

8 Comments Add yours

  1. StetotheJ says:

    I think you know where I stand. I think if we only had e-books your blog background would just be a kindle and not have the character is does now. Book shelves would be full of DVDs or ornaments and I would probably not have bothered reading, then I wouldn;t have met you and that would have been rubbish. So, maybe books do win after all!

    Like

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Yes, indeed. I know exactly where we’d have been. I probably would have been trying to find the meaning of my existence and searching for ardent readers like you everywhere else, if it was not for paperbooks. So, I m glad there are paper-books and so there is me and so there is you. With ebooks, none of this would have existed. Atleast not like how it does now. 🙂

      -A S

      Like

      1. StetotheJ says:

        All we need now is a high five to make it all complete. It makes me happy conversing with you. e-books wouldn’t have the same impact. You’re great!

        Like

      2. Asha T Seth says:

        You are too. Thank you 🙂

        Like

  2. Daniela says:

    E-books are sign of time … paper books are sign of eternity -:)!

    Like

    1. Asha Seth says:

      True, Daniela 🙂

      Like

  3. I love both!!!! I am a new follower from Goodreads and I love your blog 🙂 if you would like to follow back my link is http://kvlovesbooks.blogspot.co.uk/ thanks xx

    Like

  4. Asha Seth says:

    I surely will, Kirsty. Thanks for stopping. 🙂

    Like

Let your thoughts flow...

