The Time Of My Life by Cecelia Ahern

BookThe Time Of My Life13650062

AuthorCecelia Ahern

GenreFiction, Humor

Paperback: 391 Pages

Synopsis:

Lucy Silchester has an appointment with her life – and she’s going to have to keep it.

Lying on Lucy Silchester’s carpet one day when she returns from work is a gold envelope. Inside is an invitation – to a meeting with Life. Her life. It turns out she’s been ignoring itand it needs to meet with her face to face.

It sounds peculiar, but Lucy’s read about this in a magazine. Anyway, she can’t make the date: she’s much too busy despising her job, skipping out on her friends and avoiding her family.

But Lucy’s life isn’t what it seems. Some of the choices she’s made – and stories she’s told – aren’t what they seem either. From the moment she meets the man who introduces himself as her life, her stubborn half-truths are going to be revealed in all their glory – unless Lucy learns to tell the truth about what really matters to her.

About the Author:

Cecelia Ahern was born on September 30, 1981 in Dublin, Ireland. She is the daughter of the former Irish Taoiseach Bertie Ahern. On 14th December 2009 it was announced that Cecelia had given birth to her first child with partner David Keoghan, a girl named Robin. She was secretly married on 11 June 2010 in County Kildare, Ireland. Her older sister, Georgina Ahern is married to Nicky Byrne of Irish pop group Westlife. Cecelia was a member of the Irish pop group Shimma who finished third in the Irish national for the Eurovision Song Contest in 2000. She attended Griffith College Dublin and obtained a degree in Journalism and Media Communications.

My Review: ★

** spoiler alert ** This review contains spoilers** spoiler alert **

Did I really rate it 1 star?

Well, I’ve never been a huge fan of Cecelia’s but this book certainly left me skeptical about pursuing any other of her novels.

P.S. I Love You‘, her first novel that I’d read was comparatively better than this one.  The Time Of My Life was so utterly annoying that with each page it just kept getting to me and it almost made me cry as I couldn’t manage finishing it sooner.

Going back to the moment I first saw it in the bookstore, I’m now wondering as to what made her start writing this book at the first place. It is mere SHIT.
All through the book, the female protagonist (wait a minute, what was her name? Lucy or something. Oh! forget it! who cares!) tries to get in peace with her life personally, professionally, socially and on every other ground while she’s messing it all up at the same time with her never-ending lies that she lives with. Nick-naming, cursing everyone around when actually she is the real culprit dirtying the picture around others’ lives. To add to the misery, she keeps receiving appointment letters to have a meeting with her life. Now, it is actually her LIFE we are talking about. Doesn’t it sound like utter madness! So yes, she makes an appointment with her life who happens to be a man by the name Cosmo Brown. Really, Cosmo, eh?? And through half the book he is trying to gear up her life. Bring it back on track types. Gosh!

I repeatedly kept putting the book down after certain instances where I just couldn’t take it anymore. I wanted to cry, no yell, at her inane stupidity.

Ms. Ahern tries to put the hearts of her distressed readers to peace after around 350 pages and starts to put pieces back together in the protagonists life for a so-called-happy-sappy-ending. But, excuse me! It just didn’t work for me after having literally pulled, tugged, dragged myself through the 350 pages shit and then accept make-overs in the last 50 pages.

In short, I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone as I’ve already wasted ‘The Time of my life’ and wouldn’t want others to follow suit. Read it only if you have nothing, absolutely nothing better to do with your life.

– A Book-Lover(Also a Book-Reviewer) :-)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz says:

    I’ve read “P.S I Love You” and enjoyed it. After that I’ve read a few other books by Ahern but they were all bad. Thanks for the warning about this one. I will not read it 🙂

    Like

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Mutual feeling Liz. I liked ‘The Book of Tomorrow’ better. Sadly I don’t feel same way about her books in question here.

      Thank you for stopping-by and sharing your thoughts. 🙂

      -Asha

      Like

Let your thoughts flow...

